Tags

, ,

 

 Baking Croissants + Making Quilts from Robyn, Plum Cove Cottage

For years, there were two things I wanted to know how to make myself.  Finally, I  jumped in and actually tried.  The first was quilts. After going to Lancaster, PA and looking at all of the Amish quilts, I came home and took a quilt class. That was all it took. After that one class I started to design my own “story” quilts and have made and given to family over a hundred of them over the years.  I have taught my daughters and granddaughters to make them, too.

After quilts, there were croissants. I had mastered bread, breakfast rolls, bagels, donuts and English muffins before I tackling the puff pastry of the croissant.  I found it easier than I thought it would be. Below, is my best croissant recipe. Eat them plain or fill them with your favorite fillings, like chocolate chips or jam.

Country Inn Croissants Recipe

Heat 1 c milk and cool to warmer than room temperature, but not boiling or scalding.

Sprinkle 2 tbl yeast on the hot milk and let stand.

Add 2 eggs, 2 tbl sugar, 1 tsp salt, 3 c flour.

Knead and let rise in greased bowl.

Roll out on a tray and scatter pieces of 1 ½ c sliced butter on half of the rolled out dough.

Fold over, wrap the tray with a garbage bag.

Remove, re-fold (folding like a “letter”), roll out, and return to the fridge three more times.

Chill for 2 hours or up to overnight.

In the morning, remove from fridge and fold, like a letter, one last time.  Let rise a little.

Cut pie wedges and roll up from outside edge.

Place on greased cookie sheet or parchment paper on a baking sheet.

Let rise covered with a clean kitchen towel in a warm place until double in size.  I turn my oven on to 200 degrees and place the trays on top of the stove.

Brush with egg and water.

Bake 350 for 30 minutes.

Makes 32 very small croissants shown in photo or 12 big ones.

Country Inn Croissants from Robyn, Plum Cove Cottage

img_5316

Handmade Quilt Collection

 

