Tags

,

A Lunchbox Vignette from Ashley, Meta Street Cafe

My mom’s New Year’s Resolution this year is to make her own vegetable dips all winter. She eats a lot of raw vegetables and always has. As kids, her response to my sister and me when asked if we could have a snack during the day was, “Yes, fruit or vegetable.” She put us all on the “Fit for Life” diet for awhile. We ate piles of sprouts, plates of cauliflower, and bowls of carrots. We were known for bringing mega-healthy lunches to school, including some unconventional combinations.

In fact, during a chance meeting with an old high school classmate, I once learned that I had had an admirer who would fish from the trashcan my lunch reminants to inspect my tastes.  It was that he knew that I ate cream cheese & pimento sandwiches on wheat bread that told me this account, told to me years later, was true.

I will admit that I traded a few of my lunch items for a friend’s cheetos and Hostess desserts on occasion.  However, for the most part, Angela Lidden (The Oh She Glows Cookbook) would have approved of my childhood and teen diet.  We all continue to strive for healthy servings of vegetables, so I look to Angela Lidden for recipes, and Mom’s long-time dip recipes, to keep our vegetables interesting.

The Oh She Glows Cookbook’s Orange Maple Miso Dressing in the
 Works

The Oh She Glows Cookbook’s Orange Maple Miso Dressing from Ashley, Meta Street Cafe

3 tablespoons miso

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon tahini

1/4 cup fresh orange juice

1 tablespoon water (I left this out)

1 teaspoon maple syrup

From The Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon

Blue Cheese Dip from Robyn, Plum Cove Cottage

Combine:     1 cup sour cream

6 oz cream cheese

¾ tsp herbs and dill weed

Pepper

1 clove garlic

Beat till smooth

Add 3 oz crumbled blue cheese and mix

Cover and refrigerate

Artichoke, Cheese, & Garlic Dip from Robyn, Plum Cove Cottage

Drain and chop 16 oz artichoke hearts in water

Mix with:  1 cup mayonnaise

1 cup parmesan

1 cup mozzarella

8 oz cream cheese

salt, pepper

4 mashed clove garlic

Bake: 325 degrees for 20 minutes

 

IMG_2718

Charlotte weeding Kale in the Meta Street Cafe Garden

