Tags

, , , , ,

Breakfast Fruit | Sarah | Summerland Kitchen

Breakfast Fruit | Sarah | Summerland Kitchen

Breakfast Fruit from Sarah, Summerland Kitchen

Sarah pairs melon, blueberries, mango, & lime as a fruit medley for breakfast.

Apple-Cinnamon Puff Pancake from Sarah, Summerland Kitchen

This is one of our favorite easy breakfast pancakes. The first time I made it was on my husband’s birthday and he loved it, so we call it his “birthday pancake.”  I often double the apple in the recipe (especially now when apples are abundant) and substitute maple sugar or coconut sugar for the brown sugar.

This pancake is not like a traditional light and fluffy pancake, it is dense, and very flavorful. It is so flavorful we never feel the need to add maple syrup or confectioners sugar to the top.

Apple-Cinnamon Puff Pancake | Sarah | Summerland KitchenIMG_2011

Apple-Cinnamon Puff Pancake | Sarah | Summerland Kitchen


Apple Cinnamon Puff Pancake | Sarah | Summerland Kitchen

Apple-Cinnamon Puff Pancake | Sarah | Summerland Kitchen

This recipe came out of the Yummy Mummy cookbook.

Dia de los Muertos Vignette, from Ashley, Meta Street Bungalow

My grandfather made my grandmother breakfast in bed every morning.  He fresh-squeezed orange juice, warmed pastries, prepared fresh fruit, soft-boiled eggs, and made Earl Grey tea.  Served on a tray, my grandmother sat with the newspaper and a giant library book on the bed, looking at the ocean out her bedroom window as she ate.  My grandfather sat in an easy chair nearby.

At least once a week, my sister and I spent time with our grandparents as we grew up. As a young adult, I lived an hour’s drive from them in LA and visited often.  One day at work, I answered a sudden phone call from my sister.   My grandfather had read the day’s mail on his patio that day he fell ill. I had sent him a letter. He pulled it out of the stack to read it first. The newsy words and love to Papa in my letter were his last thoughts.  My grandfather was in the hospital and he was not conscious.  I left work that day and drove to see him before we let him go.   My dad helped me as I leaned over Papa to touch his face and say goodbye.

At my grandfather’s Celebration of Life, my dad told the group that he hoped he could be as good a grandfather as Papa had been.  That was nearly twenty years ago.  Now, my dad spends time with Charlotte once a week.  He taught her to count and to tell time.  He lives in the flat behind our house.  He is living up to his hope.

“Today is not a day of sadness, but a day to remember our ancestors.  We teach our children that our loved ones have not left us, as long as we remember them.”  Dia De los Muertos Ceremony, Museum of Ventura County, 2015.

Dia de los Muertos Ceremony | Ventura County Museum

Dia de los Muertos Ceremony | Ventura County Museum


My dad with my daughter, Charlotte | Ashley | Meta Street Bungalow

My dad with Charlotte | Ashley | Meta Street Bungalow

 

