Tags

, ,

Almond Peanut Butter

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | Almond Peanut Butter

Nut Butter

I always have this giant Ball jar full of a nut butter in the refridgerator.   Our family eats nut butters daily, so grinding our own makes sense.  I use organic nuts and We Olive olive oil.  We Olive is a specialty foods store in downtown Ventura where I refill bottles with different types of olive oil for my kitchen pantry.  My favorite type is Mission, but different types lend themselves to different foods, depending on their distinct flavor. Also, I have found that some years the oils change in flavor.  Changing an oil used in a nut butter can give you variety in subsequent batches.   Spices can be used in this way, too.  Cinnamon or chili, for example, add interest to nut butters.

Nut Butter Recipe

Using a food processor, grind unsalted nuts with olive oil, as needed, to achieve desired consistency.  The beauty of this is that you can choose how crunchy the butter is and you can choose your nuts.  I usually add walnuts or almonds to peanuts, but others, such as cashews, pecans, or hazelnuts, would be excellent.

Good stuff.

Cupboard Story

I bought a box of these Ball jars and use them for everything.  They come in a variety of sizes, but I use the 24 oz. size the most.  They are a good substitute for plastic, in my opinion, and fit well in the fridge and freezer.  I store chicken broth in them in the freezer, nut butter in the fridge, and goat milk given to us by farmer friends.  🐐

