Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley |Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley |Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

 Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

I made it, Cauliflower Mac & Cheese.  I have done it before, but I made the mistake of using Brewer’s Yeast instead of Nutritional Yeast.  It’s no wonder my husband liked that one.  This one, my stepson liked, a lot.  He said he would eat it uncontrollably if pasta were added to it.  It’s gooey and cheesy (just look at the drip on the side of the bowl.)  No need to remove the cauliflower, just add pasta.  Okay.  We are not gluten free.  That can be done.  For me, I just wanted to try to make this dish.  I have heard about it, and wondered about it.  It is a way to eat cauliflower, and for me, that is enough.  I recommend eating it with a hot sauce, like Cholula, to give it a little more interest.

Cauliflower Mac & Cheese Recipe

1 large head cauliflower (1 ½ lb.), cut into medium florets (8 cups)

2 Tbs. butter or margarine

3 Tbs. all-purpose flour

2 cups milk

1 clove garlic, minced

2 cups grated extra-sharp Cheddar cheese

½ cup nutritional yeast

2 egg yolks

1 ½ cups fresh breadcrumbs

Preheat oven to 350°F. Bring large pot of salted water to a boil. Add cauliflower.  Boil 5 minutes, until just tender. Drain, reserving 1 cup cooking liquid.  Set aside.

Melt butter in same pot over medium heat. Whisk in flour, and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Whisk in the milk, garlic, and reserved cooking liquid, and cook about 10 minutes, or until sauce is thickened. Remove from heat, and stir in cheese, nutritional yeast, and egg yolks until cheese is melted. Fold in cauliflower.

Coat 13- x 9-inch baking dish with olive oil. Spread cauliflower mixture in baking dish, and sprinkle with breadcrumbs. Drizzle breadcrumbs with olive oil. Bake 30 minutes, or until casserole is hot and bubbly and breadcrumbs are crisp and brown.

From http://www.vegetariantimes.com

