Tags

,

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | Kale Chips

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | Kale Chips

Kale Chips

Kale Chips are a quick way to prepare kale as a snack, and they can be flavored in creative ways.  I bought a package of kale chips recently that were coconut flavored.  Below is the basic recipe that Angela Lidden swears by.  I enjoyed them, but take note that they do not keep for longer than one day.

Kale Chips Recipe

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Wash one bunch of kale leaves and dry them completely in a salad spinner.

Place the kale leaves in a large bowl and drizzle with one tablespoon of olive oil.  Massage the oil into the kale with your hands until the kale leaves are thoroughly coated with the oil.

Place the kale in a single layer on the prepared baking sheets. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and other spices or seasonings.  Bake for 10 minutes, then rotate the pans and bake for 10 more minutes, until the leaves are crispy but not burned.

Serve the kale chips with a side of ketchup, sriracha, or your favorite salad dressing.  Leftover kale chips don’t keep their crispness very well, so these are best consumed immediately.

Recipe from “Oh She Glows” by Angela Lidden.

Cupboard Story

My grandmother had numerous sets of dishes, as has my mom.  Some were used for nightly dinners, and others were reserved for guests.  My grandmother had weekly summer dinner parties for years.  My sister and I served the guests and did dishes to earn money and spend time with our grandparents and their friends.

These days, my sister and I have pretty large stacks of dishes in our cupboards, as well.  It seems to be a family thing to collect dishes.  I’m sure it is related to our family’s love of food & wanting to share our cooking.

 First Tea Set | Los Angeles, CA | 1970's

First Tea Set | Los Angeles, CA | 1970’s

 

