Tags

,

 

Gathered Scattered Kitchen | Diana | Lettuce Soup

Gathered Scattered Kitchen | Diana | Lettuce Soup

Lettuce Soup

It’s hot out and the lettuce has bolted and taken over the garden. What do you do with the tons of bitter lettuce? Make lettuce soup, of course! The following recipe closely follows Martha Rose Shulman’s from her cooking column in the New York Times. I have so much lettuce, that I have made it at least 4 times and filled up a bunch of quart-size zipper bags to save in the freezer for later. Apparently it’s good hot or cold, although I’ve only eaten it hot with fresh, crusty bread from the oven. Here goes:

Lettuce Soup Recipe

1 onion chopped

2 leeks, white and light green parts only, cleaned and sliced

2-3 cloves of garlic

2 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, 1 inch dice

6 cups of water

3 tbsp. of bouillon powder (I used Rapunzel Veggie Stock powder)

(Alternately, you can use 6 cups of pre-made Vegetable Stock from the Meta Street Cafe blog!)

A bouquet garni made of a few springs of parsley and thyme and a bay leaf.

4 cups of chopped green lettuce (I’m pretty generous with my measurement here as I have so much lettuce!)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

– Heat some olive oil over medium heat in a soup pot (like the one pictured in my profile pic), and add the onion and leek. Cook stirring for about 5 minutes until translucent, then add the garlic and cook for a few more minutes until fragrant.

– Add the potatoes, stock and bouquet garni. Add some salt to taste and bring to a simmer for about 45 minutes.

-Next, add the lettuce and simmer a little longer for about 15 minutes until the lettuce is wilted.

– At this point, I let the soup cool down for awhile before attempting to put it in my blender. When I feel safe (lol!), I remove the bouquet garni and discard it. My immersion blender did not work so well for this, so I blended it in my Vitamix making sure to cover the lid with a towel to avoid an exploding, scalding mess.

– To serve, I added salt to taste and lots of freshly ground pepper.

