Tags

, ,

Summerland Kitchen | Sarah | Rye Buns

Summerland Kitchen | Sarah | Rye Buns

Rye Buns

I’ve been fooling around with bread baking for the last 3 months. Last week I can came across this recipe in a Danish cookbook called, The Nordic Diet, by Trina Hahnemann. This bread has changed my life. This is bread that you actually feel good about eating. It leaves you satisfied unlike many American breads. The bread is baked into a bun shape. I always associated buns with the light, white processed buns people use for hamburgers, but these are quite the opposite. We have enjoyed them for breakfast with jam, lunch with mustard, sprouts and cheese, and for dinner slathered with lemon basil pesto and topped with baked rockfish and ripe tomatoes. I find the bun shape to be convenient for lunch boxes and on the go snacks for the kids. This recipe makes about 20 buns, which is a lot for our family to eat within a few days, so we froze a large portion of them right away. We thaw them at room temperature before we are ready to eat them, and they still taste as good as they did the first day I made them. This bread will be a staple in our house. Enjoy!

Rye Buns Recipe

2 ounces fresh yeast (I buy it right from our local bakery)
1 3/4 c yogurt (I used whole milk european style plain yogurt)
4 tab honey
3/4 cup spelt flour
5 cups rye flour
scant 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tab salt
1 egg beaten to glaze
poppy seeds to sprinkle

In large bowl dissolve the yeast in 1 3/4 cups water then and add the yogurt and honey mix well. Mix the flours and salt in a separate bowl then add to the yeast stirring for 5 minutes with a wooden spoon. On a floured counter and with floured hands kneed the dough well. It is really sticky and I thought I did something wrong, but that is normal don’t worry. Place dough back in bowl, cover with a tea towel and let sit for 1hour at room temperature. Preheat oven to 400 and line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper. Flour your hands and form about 20 small buns. I had to keep flouring my hands with every bun because they are very sticky. Place the buns on the cookie sheet. Glaze buns with the beaten egg. Sprinkle with poppy seeds. Bake for 30 minutes. I baked both trays at the same time, and swapped positions half way through the cooking time. The author recommends keeping them in a breadbox or a dark cook cupboard. Do not put them in the refrigerator as it will make the bread dry.

