Tags

Farm Box Smoothie

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | Farm Box Smoothie


 
Farm Box Smoothie

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | Farm Box Smoothie

Farm Box Smoothie

I just recently got on the morning smoothie train.  My dad has been doing it for years.  It has been about a week, now, that I have had a smoothie for breakfast each morning and I am pretty sure I won’t go back to my old usual – wheat toast with nut butter & fruit.

I keep a lot of fruits and vegetables in the fridge from our Farm Box delivery and our own garden, so my new morning routine is to dump a bunch of fresh produce in a food processor, add some super foods (nuts, avocados, cinnamon, turmeric, and/or chia seeds), pea protein powder, keifer, & almond milk. I make a large batch and feel like I have a constant source of liquid nutrition all morning. It is fabulous. It’s a great way to intake fresh foods & starting the day that way is really working for me.

Our stepmom has a lot to say about smoothies, too.  She is right.  We are getting there in our house…

Lynn says, “It’s a great nutritious portable breakfast. I made smoothies for years for my daughter Skylar to have on the way to school. Most kids have their most intense academic classes in the morning: toast is not enough! No wonder there are so many problems in a classroom with kids are being too tired from lack of fuel or hyped from the wrong foods: sugar from pastries, white bread, bagels, etc. Its the parents responsibility to provide young children at least, who cannot choose, a nutritious breakfast and the other meals as well. It’s brain food; and every parent wants their child to do well.”

Farm Box Smoothie Recipe

I use unsweetened almond milk to smooth it out. Trader Joes, Lassens, & Fresh and Easy all carry it. I add a tasteless pea protein powder from Lassens, too.  Then, I always put a banana for sweetness and an orange.  I always put a cup or so of keifer, too, for the probiotics.  

After that, I just start dumping healthy stuff in. Whatever I have. For example, I usually put an avocado, a handful of greens (kale, romaine, bok choy….), apricots, a spoonful of honey & ginger (especially if I have a cold), spoonful of tumeric (for anti-inflamation), strawberries, almonds or cashews. Little of this, little of that. I basically make a giant liquid vitamin.

I fill a large food processor and use a funnel to fill a giant. pink 40 oz. HydroFlask with a cap and big straw. I sip it all morning and I LOVE it. I have a really fast metabolism so my body can handle a lot of calories. You may not want such a giant intake, but on a smaller scale, you could have a nice compact breakfast and start the day with mega foods.  It’s so awesome!

