Tags

, , , , ,

California Granola

East Gloucester Square | Memory | California Granola

California Granola

Growing up, in California, we felt somewhat deprived at home because when it came to cereal, our options were Grapenuts, Cheerios (not Honey Nut), and home made granola. At the time, it was horrifying, as a kid, to eat such a healthy cereal.

 Now, as an adult, I go through the market and sometimes indulge in a small bag of $10 granola to ration on my yogurt in the mornings. It’s one of those things, I hide in the back of the cupboard for fear my husband will eat the entire bag in one sitting while watching football.

This week, I pulled out my mother’s old recipe book, and followed along based on what I had in my cupboards. It make a gallon ziplock bag worth of granola, for what I am guessing was approximately $5.00. That’s some savings, and I am pretty sure there are a lot more natural ingredients, considering I put every one of them in the bowl.

Try it. I promise, you won’t regret it.

California Granola Recipe

2 1/2 cups of rolled oats

1/2 cup coconut

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 cup nuts (almonds and pecans)

1/2 cup wheat germ (or flax seed)

1 cup raisens (or dried cranberries)

1/2 cup honey

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup olive oil

Mix everything in a bowl and spread 2 inches in a shallow pan. Bake at 250 degrees for 2 hours. Let cool. (it will be soft, but will harden when it cools)

Store in an airtight container

