Tags

,

Seasoning the Cast Iron Skillet

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | Seasoning the Cast Iron Skillet

 

Seasoning the Cast Iron Skillet

The cast iron skillet is a very usedul cooking tool.  It cooks food evenly and can be placed in the oven to bake.  Mine has been sitting in the cupboard for a long time, but I wanted to make a frittata with it.  It was rusty, and required “seasoning.”. I had to look up how to do this, so, if your cast iron needs seasoning, here is the method I found to work well.

I used steel wool to scrape the rust away, dried the pan, and oiled it with coconut oil shortening, (because it is what I had, but I believe any oil will work) lined the oven with aluminum foil, turned the skillet upside down,  and baked it at 350 for an hour.  All done!

Frittata post coming soon….😊

