Tags

,

PIe Crusts

Meta Street Bungalow | Ashley | PIe Crusts

 

Pie Crust

This recipe is adapted from a recipe book made by a family friend. Memory uses a different recipe, one from our mom.  She will post that one separately.

Here is the pie crust recipe I use every time.   I changed Martha’s recipe a little. I use less salt, a little less butter and have my own order for how I like to mix it.  These crusts are very buttery and remind me of shortbread, which makes it our favorite crust.  I like having pie crusts on hand, so I usually use one and freeze two.

Pie Crust Recipe

Put these ingredient in a mixer in this order:

3 sticks butter

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 egg

1/2 cup water

4 cups flour

1 tsp salt

Once it mixes itself into a big ball, take it out of the mixer and flatten it with your hand into three pie pans, as you see in the photo.  If you are going to use them immediately, fill them.  Otherwise, cover with foil or plastic and put in the freezer for another time.

Adapted from “Cooking at Cat Track Ranch” by Martha Sage

